There’s no place like….

So my smelly little brother has washed the last of the Glastonbury filth off himself, and Andy Murray is yet again making me lose the ability to write in the afternoon, which can mean only one thing: the summer holidays are nearly here.

Only I am not really allowed a holiday this year. Not because I have been bad. But because I have spent the hundreds of pounds that would have whisked me and the menace off to the Maldives, or more realistically Minehead, on a new kitchen. Which, like, I KNOW. How grown-up am I?

And yet my heart isn’t breaking. Because the thing is, I’ve always been more of a home girl. Partly because sleeping in a bed that someone else has just departed is a bit icky unless for some reason it is in a very expensive hotel, and I don’t do camping for about a bazillion reasons. But also because I just don’t feel the need to escape; I’ve always found I can do just that in the comfort of my non-sleeping bagged home via the amazing teleporting invention that is called THE BOOK.

I have spent weeks in Paris thanks to Sarra Manning’s Nobody’s Girl, and several years in New York being guided by Anna Godberson and her addictive Luxe series.

And so these are my holiday destinations this year. Some I’ve never seen, some I’ll be staying with old friends. And if I run out of places to visit, I’m sure I can find plenty more on the shelves at Mr B’s Book Emporium.

Where will your books take you this summer?

About Joanna Nadin

A former broadcast journalist and special adviser to the prime minister, since leaving politics I’ve written more than 70 books, as well as speeches for politicians, and articles for newspapers and magazines like Red and The Amorist. I also lecture in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, and hold a doctorate in young adult literature. I’m a winner of the Fantastic Book Award and the Surrey Book Award, and have been shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Booktrust Best Book award and Queen of Teen among others, and nominated for the Carnegie Medal for Joe All Alone, which is currently being adapted for television. I also work with Sir Chris Hoy on the Flying Fergus series. I like London, New York, Essex, tea, cake, Marmite, mint imperials, prom dresses, pubs, that bit in the West Wing where Donna tells Josh she wouldn’t stop for a red light if he was in an accident, junk shops, crisps, Cornwall, St Custard’s, Portuguese custard tarts, political geeks, pin-up swimsuits, the Regency, high heels, horses, old songs, my Grandma’s fur coat, vinyl, liner notes, the smell of old books, the feel of a velveteen monkey, Guinness, quiffs, putting my hand in a bin of chicken feed, the 1950s, burlesque, automata, fiddles, flaneuring, gigs in fields on warm summer nights, Bath, the bath.
This entry was posted in Reading, Teen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s no place like….

  1. aok666 says:

    Hmmm… coming up are the following book-destinations: Discworld (bit of re-reading there), several kitchens (some nice new cookbooks – or old, in the case of the vintage 50s one) and the multiverse of His Dark Materials (re-reading so that I remember what my sister is on about). And maybe sub-Saharan Africa 100,000 years ago if I re-read The Kin again… or Zimbabwe in 2194 if I re-read The Ear, The Eye and The Arm.

Leave a Reply

